I am anxious to acknowledge that I am intrigued by rumors the indigenous peoples of the Dutch East Indies speak of about a lost city hidden deep within the jungle. A couple years passed since Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles published his novel on Javan history. His discovery of Borobudur began whispers amongst the natives of other lost temples and civilizations waiting, wanting to be found. My dear maid, Ratna, often confides in me what the other servants and maids gossip about.

Since the publication of Sir Raffles’ novel, old stories are told once again. One that interests me most is a city 100 kilometres away from the capital of Batavia [present-day Jakarta]. Very few Dutchmen interact with the locals in conversation, however, I feel a strong pull to them. Perhaps it is an instinct to know more about my late mother’s own history. Shortly after I was born, she went home to our Lord and Saviour in the year 1796, I was placed in my father’s care. My mother was a native of the Dutch East Indies and my father is a well-known Dutch merchant, trading spices to the Netherlands.

Growing up in the one and twenty years with him in the flourishing capital of Batavia, I was never without wanting. I have received the highest education available and learned the play the piano-grande spectacularly. I often would entertain the many guests that entered our home. The laughter and conversations flowed through the open-door house to let the cool evening breeze in. Talks about the discovery of the Buddhist temple Borobudur still consists of the many conversations in this house.

The adventures of Sir Raffles is riveting. The natives told stories of a large temple in the jungle. Sir Raffles heard these tales while on an inspection tour to Semarang in 1814. A large monument, constructed for an Indian god, was abandoned when Islam came to this colony. Unable to make the journey himself, he asked upon H.C. Cornelius to investigate. Two months of labor passed when first sight of the monument appeared. Work is still being done on the monument and only a few have seen Borobudur.

Few have traveled extensively through the Dutch East Indies. How many more monuments have been left to nature, yet to be discovered to man. It is not proper of a lady to venture out into the jungle, but I yearn to locate another monument lost to nature. Ratna tells me of another tjandi, temple, dedicated to the Queen of the South Indian Sea. Located in western Java, a small fisherman city is petrified of the Queen. She lives in the waters and punishes those who defy her. The temple is said to bring calm waters to the village.

This local belief, out of the rest spoken amongst the natives, fascinates me most. It is not proper for me to travel without company, but none in my circle would want to venture out to follow a story. Still, my imagination takes me to places where my feet cannot. With my candle light dimming, I shall leave with this sentence.

~Verena Andoko

2 thoughts on “February 20, 1827

Leave a comment